Holdsworth, Amber

From GGCWiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

About Me

My name is Amber Holdsworth, but I go by my middle name (Rachel). I currently live in Loganville, Georgia. I chose to attend GGC because it was the closest school offering my degree. I am originally from Augusta, Georgia. I graduated high school from Greenbrier High School in Evans, GA way back in 2005. I started college there at Augusta State University (now known as Augusta University) and transferred to Georgia Southern University which is in Statesboro, GA. I graduated from there with a degree in Nutrition but started my family soon after so I never pursued a career in that field. I decided that I wanted to go back to school to pursue a more rewarding career path which is what has led me here. I have been married for seven years to my husband, James. He is from Lawrenceville, GA and is a professional chef at a restaurant called Beetlecat. We have a five year old son named Wilkes and two dogs (a maltese named Annabelle and a Boston Terrier named Fitz).

Wilkes.JPG
Rachelholds.JPG

Interests

I enjoy movies, reading, going to concerts, and spending time with my family and friends. I like all genres of movies but my favorites are drama and comedy and the occasional vampire movie. When I say vampire movie, I like the Underworld and Blade series, not Twilight! I have always loved to read, ever since I was little. The library is one of my favorite places to come for stress relief. I love mysteries and sometimes a girly romance book depending on my mood. Concerts are my very favorite thing to do for fun and I would go to one every week if I could afford to. I can appreciate all kinds of music but my favorite is older country music, particularly from the 1980s and 1990s. Maybe its because that is the music I was raised on. I also love older rock but nothing too loud. Tom Petty is in my opinion one of the greatest singers of all time. Another thing that I enjoy is shopping for antiques and going to yard sales. I love hunting for cool and unique things at bargain prices. I love the simple things and all things nostalgic. I just recently went to an antiques auction and got an icebox from the early 1900s which is what they used before the modern refrigerators! I also enjoy following true crime shows and podcasts. I would love to learn how to refinish furniture and hope to be able to add that to my list of hobbies this year.

Yardsale!.jpg
Antique Gibson Icebox like the one that I just found at a sale!

My Major and Future Academic Goals

My major is Accounting and I have about two years left until I finish my degree. I hope to finish my bachelors degree and then get my Masters degree. I would love to attend the University of Georgia for their Masters in Accounting program. It is very competitive so I will have to work hard until then but I am determined! It is one of my long term dreams and I know that it would help me in getting a great first job. My mom is a CPA and that has greatly influenced my decision to pursue that career path. She actually went back to school when I was little for a second degree in Accounting and she says it was one of the hardest and most rewarding things that she has ever done. That has really been a great inspiration to me in my decision to go back to school in my thirties as a full time parent. I thought college was hard the first time but I am finding that I had it easy back in those days! I have a degree in Nutrition and Food Science from Georgia Southern University but that ended up being a much more difficult field to find a job in than I expected which is why I am pursuing a second degree. I like Accounting because of the structure it provides and that there are always good jobs available that pay well. I really want to be able to provide for my family and send my son to college wherever he wants when he turns 18!

accounting

My Favorite Dish

My very favorite dish is Shrimp and Grits. I am a Southern girl through and through and this has always been a food that I order every time I see it on a menu. My family always jokes that they know what I am going to order before we even get to the restaurant. When I lived in Augusta, there was a restaurant in Edgefield, South Carolina that we would drive to every so often and Shrimp and Grits was their specialty. It was located in an old historic Victorian era home and was such a cool place with lots of southern charm!

Shrimpngrits.jpg
Edgefieldgrill.jpg

Travel Page

I would love to visit Ireland. Here is a page about my future trip to Ireland: Click here to visit the page

Links

  1. Here is the wiki page of my friend Kevin
  2. Here is the wiki page of my friend David
  3. Amber Holdsworth's Neocities Website
Personal tools